Shackpets | Available on iOS and Google Play Store

Destiny 2 - New Max Level and Power Level Cap

Learn what the new max Power is in Destiny 2, along with any new increases to the level, as well as a history of each season's Power cap.


Every time Destiny 2 releases a new expansion, expect the max Power level to increase to a new cap. This has been the case with every new DLC and season (as well as with some limited-time events). When Destiny 2 first launched, the max Power was 300 (305 with mods) but now, all these years later, Guardians have grown fat with strength. With the release of each new DLC, players want to know the new max Power level cap and whether there are new levels to chase. The latest expansion, Season of the Haunted, will continue the trend of increasing the max Power.

Last updated on August 23, 2022.

Max Level and Power Level Cap - Season of Plunder

The Power cap in Destiny 2 increases whenever a new expansion or piece of DLC is released. Previously, Destiny 2 also raised the player level (a now defunct system). The last time “levels” were involved was the release of Destiny 2: Forsaken, which saw the level cap raised to 50. Since then, the level system has been scrapped, meaning players only need to focus on Power.

The new max Power is 1570 (1580 with Pinnacle gear) as of Season of Plunder. The following table shows what the max Power is for the new season as well as what it was for previous seasons, DLCs, and events. Check out our guide on the Destiny 2 season release dates for a deeper look at each previous season.

Content Max Power
Destiny 2 base game 300 (305 with mods)
Curse of Osiris 330 (335 with mods)
Warmind 380 (385 with mods)
Moments of Triumph event 400 (405 with mods)
Forsaken / Season of the Outlaw 600
Season of the Forge 650
Season of the Drifter 700
Season of Opulence 750
Shadowkeep / Season of the Undying 950 (960 with Pinnacle gear)
Season of Dawn 960 (970 with Pinnacle gear)
Season of the Worthy 1000 (1010 with Pinnacle gear)
Season of Arrivals 1050 (1060 with Pinnacle gear)
Beyond Light / Season of the Hunt 1250 (1260 with Pinnacle gear)
Season of the Chosen 1300 (1310 with Pinnacle gear)
Season of the Splicer 1310 (1320 with Pinnacle gear)
Season of the Lost 1320 (1330 with Pinnacle gear)
The Witch Queen / Season of the Risen 1550 (1560 with Pinnacle gear)
Season of the Haunted 1560 (1570 with Pinnacle gear)
Season of Plunder 1570 (1580 with Pinnacle gear)

It’s important to note that all these figures do not take into consideration the seasonal artifact. Every new season (as of Shadowkeep) introduces an artifact along with a Power increase. This artifact is used to gain additional Power through XP acquisition.

For those that are curious about the aforementioned levels that were removed, here is what they were over the course of the first year and a bit of Destiny 2:

  • Destiny 2 base game – Level 20
  • Destiny 2: Curse of Osiris – Level 25
  • Destiny 2: Warmind – Level 30
  • Destiny 2: Forsaken – Level 50

While the max Power will likely increase with every new season and DLC, it’s safe to say that there will no longer be a player level like there was with the base game. This streamlines the experience, allowing players to focus on completing new content (like the campaigns) and then shifting focus to Powerful reward drops and Pinnacle activities to reach the new max Power in Destiny 2. Take a moment to look over the Shacknews Destiny 2 complete strategy guide to make sure your Guardian is fully prepared to take on the next threat.

The Destiny 2 Guys

Bill and Sam are the two Shacknews writers who handle the bulk of the Destiny 2 content. As a Hunter and Warlock main respectively, they can cover a great deal of ground with whatever is happening in Destiny 2 today. What they don't know they can find out thanks to their all-star lineup of Destiny 2 friends.

Hello, Meet Lola